post Dec 20 2010, 07:17 PM
Post #1

Brigadier
Group Icon

Group: Members

Submissions: None

Member No.: 79,493

Gamertag: Prawny331

Note: I am no pro, I still don't know a lot about the scenario editor. If anything is wrong in this guide please tell me.
I know that many of you have not ever even looked at the scenario editor. Either by it being too hard or not being bothered. Playing/making scenarios can be a good break from constantly playing rated games and worrying about ranks. Hopefully, this guide will encourage people to use the scenario editor more :D
Part 1:Basic Basic Introduction to Scenarios

I'm starting from square one. Yep. So, here we go.
A scenario is like a play... Kindof.
Think about it, a play has four things. Actors, backgrounds, a script and music. A scenario is the same. It has objects (units, buildings etc) which are like actors, a background (the map), a script (triggers) and music. The actors have to follow the script and the objects follow the triggers.
It's a bad metaphor I know, but it explains the basic way scenarios work. Adding objects, music and a background are easy, it' the triggers that are the hard part. It also depends on what you idea is. Settler massacre is just a basic empty map with a few town centres and a win/lose trigger. Really easy, really simple and a great fun game!
What do you need to be able to make scenarios?
Easy.
-An idea (I have problems coming up with ideas so other people give me ideas and I make them).
-A basic knowledge of the game. It helps to know basic unit abilities, especially when making RPGs.
-Time and patience.
You don't need much, and I'll teach you how to do triggers.

Part 2: Basics of the Scenario editor

The Scenario Editor can be found under Help and Tools> Scenario Editor